Blame Dante!

Since Dantes post yesterday I have been thinking about all the different tv shows I used to watch.

I put my favourite one in the video bar.

With the help of http://www.80scartoons.co.uk/ I spent ages yesterday looking at all my old favourites.

Trapdoor, Dangermouse, Button Moon, The Moomins (has anyone worked out what kind of creatures they actually were?), Ewoks, He-Man, Thundercats, Wackaday, Going Live. And loads more.
Strangely I never begged my Mam for an ’empty washing up liquid bottle’, or went out of my way to earn a Blue Peter badge.
I preferred to watch Tony Heart. Sadly Tony Heart died earlier this year.

Of course, Disney’s ‘The Raccoons’ was a big hit over here. As was Gummibears, Ducktales, Scrooge McDuck, the Rescuers etc….


And of course, the excellent Fraggle Rock.
So much better than the Muppets.
Thank God I was never subjected to the atrocity of Sesame Street!!!!!!
Ah, good times…. memories and all that nostalgic mush!!!!!!
Then came Grange Hill, which I was forbidden to watch, and Byker Grove which I adored. But those were older kids programs.
Contrary to what Dante might think I did not sit in front of the TV all day. I was only allowed to watch one hour a day….. providing I hadn’t been grounded. (Which I never was coz I was a little angel.)
Nope, 1 hour a day and then playing outside or reading.
And I could only watch TV after I had practiced the Violin and Piano and done all my school work (or at least told Mam that I had.)
I spent a lot more time outside than in actually.
Dad was always building something. Sheds, Wendy Houses, Tree Houses, Sky Lights, Converting Lofts and of course his actual job of laying floors.
I spent loads of time with my Dad, helping with these projects or going to work with him and learning how to lay a floor.
I just Googled Dads work name ‘Len the Lino’ to see if I could find a pic and some son of a bludger in Windsor has nicked his name!!! Bloody cheek!
But where were the girly toys I hear you shout.
Ha, Mam bought me a doll once, bloody annoying thing that wet itself and cried! I played football with it and then left it in the back garden! The neighbour came round and told Mam to ‘Shut that f-ing doll up’.
On Mams orders Dad build me a Wendy house and painted it PINK!! I used it to store my toys.
Nope I preferred to play in my brothers Tree house and rope swing, much to the dismay of Mam who would constantly remind my Dad that he already had 5 boys, he did NOT have 6.
To which Dad would reply, ‘Yes but she knows more about laying floors and building with wood than any of the boys!’ Ta Dad.
There was lots of boring stuff too.
Stately homes that Mam insisted were educational, and botanical gardens that ‘are an integral part of science’.
Outings to parks were a favourite.
I remember we went to my Uncle Den’s park quite alot. OK so it wasn’t exactly his park but he was the head park keeper there.
Fireworks night one year, we went to Uncle Den’s park and I in true Jflame style, ditched Mam and Dad and went around on my own.
Brilliant.
I was playing a fantastic game of manhunt (like tag but bigger and more violent) with some random kids. No problems, just good clean fun… until (and please bare in mind that I was prolly around 8 or 9, the memories a little vague so I may not get it word for word.)
‘OI!!! Can’t you bloody read!!!’ We all froze and turned, it was a parkie. (park keeper)
He walked over to us and pointed to the sign behind us.
“PRIVATE KEEP OUT” I can’t remember exactly what happened next but I know that I had a FIM moment.
‘You can’t tell me what to do! I’ll tell my Dad an he’ll knock your head off!’
I don’t think that went down too well cos he grabbed my arm and started walking around with me screeching about my Dad an how he was dead meat.
I saw my Dad and pointed him out, clearly stating that ‘Now you’re in trouble’ which I remember vividly.
‘Alright Den!’
I could have died. The parkie was my Uncle Den.
That’s where the memory ends I’m afraid….. or maybe not, that was really embarrassing.
Well heres to memories….good ones.
Categories: Memories | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Blame Dante!

  1. Anonymous

    Hay girl, nice memories, more please.

  2. Tiggs

    This was a terrific post. I’ll admit to my ears perking up more than a little at the title! Then feeling tremendous relief when I saw what the post was actually about, lol.I’d love to hear more about your childhood, too. Especially the happy memories! I didn’t have brothers (or sisters) but I was a tomboy, too.I swam in the lake a lot (with the alligators and snakes) and rode my horse. But I never, ever went to work with my Dad, and it sounds like you two had a unique relationship.Feeling better today?Love and big hugs,Tiggs

  3. Andrades Girl

    Good Morning Jay:What a fun post, so much info in here. I didn’t grow up with the muppets, but I loved them as an adult, how come u don’t like the muppets? I don’t think I remember Fraggle Rock although the name sounds familiar. I am a HUGE fan Looney Tunes Cartoons….Bugs Bunny, Elmer Fudd, Daffy Duck, did you ever watch any of those? You must be too young to know them but they are still on TV here a lot. I played the violin as a child too…but I wasn’t very good at it!Great reading about your childhood, thanks for sharingI hope your feeling LOTS better todayAG

  4. Jflame

    Ta guys, hey did you watch the trapdoor episodes at the top?Hugs, Jayps. I’m feeling a little better today.

  5. Dante d'Amore

    This was a fabulous post.The title?Hmmm.Needs a little work, lol.

  6. Daisychain

    Hmmm…I remember the kids watching a lot of those; I never was a tv freak. I never watch it now…didn’t much when I was young, either…LOL perhaps thats why I had so many kids….

  7. ronnie

    Hey Jay, It was mainly Saturday Matinee's (dont think they have them now) for me, didn't watch too much TV but I did love Tommy & Gerry and Top Cat.Didn't like the Muppets at all.Great post.Ronniexx

  8. lil miss naughty

    I remember all those shows to, I used to love watching the racoons and fraggle rock but the gummi bears were my favorite! thanks for bringing back memories jay 🙂

Share your thoughts